ExcelRibbon.Tips.Net ExcelTips (Ribbon Interface)

Turning Off Sharing

Please Note: This article is written for users of the following Microsoft Excel versions: 2007, 2010, and 2013. If you are using an earlier version (Excel 2003 or earlier), this tip may not work for you. For a version of this tip written specifically for earlier versions of Excel, click here: Turning Off Sharing.

At some point you may want to turn off workbook sharing in Excel. For instance, when the end of the development period for the workbook has been reached, you will want to turn off sharing and come up with your final version of the workbook.

You can turn off sharing by following these steps:

  1. Display the Review tab of the ribbon.
  2. Click the Share Workbook tool, in the Changes group. Excel displays the Share Workbook dialog box.
  3. Clear the Allow Changes check box.
  4. Click on OK.

When you turn off sharing and click on the OK button, Excel displays a warning that what you are doing may have consequences for other users. Provided there are no other users accessing the workbook, you should go ahead and click on Yes. If there are other users (shown back in the Share Workbook dialog box), you may want to ask them to save their changes and close the workbook before proceeding.

ExcelTips is your source for cost-effective Microsoft Excel training. This tip (8487) applies to Microsoft Excel 2007, 2010, and 2013. You can find a version of this tip for the older menu interface of Excel here: Turning Off Sharing.

Related Tips:

Save Time and Supercharge Excel! Automate virtually any routine task and save yourself hours, days, maybe even weeks. Then, learn how to make Excel do things you thought were simply impossible! Mastering advanced Excel macros has never been easier. Check out Excel 2010 VBA and Macros today!


Comments for this tip:

Jacki    13 Aug 2015, 02:21
Great tip - thanks for the advice.
Nigel    11 Apr 2015, 11:16
It is probably worth mentioning that you must be the owner of the document (e.g. I had work document I was working on at home, it took me moment to realise that I could only turn off sharing if I opened the document on the work network using my work credentials).
Gourab    09 Dec 2014, 07:30

Leave your own comment:

  Notify me about new comments ONLY FOR THIS TIP
Notify me about new comments ANYWHERE ON THIS SITE
Hide my email address
*What is 4+5 (To prevent automated submissions and spam.)
          Commenting Terms

Our Company

Sharon Parq Associates, Inc.

About Tips.Net

Contact Us


Advertise with Us

Our Privacy Policy

Our Sites


Beauty and Style




DriveTips (Google Drive)

ExcelTips (Excel 97–2003)

ExcelTips (Excel 2007–2013)



Home Improvement

Money and Finances


Pests and Bugs

Pets and Animals

WindowsTips (Microsoft Windows)

WordTips (Word 97–2003)

WordTips (Word 2007–2013)

Our Products

Premium Newsletters

Helpful E-books

Newsletter Archives


Excel Products

Word Products

Our Authors

Author Index

Write for Tips.Net

Copyright © 2015 Sharon Parq Associates, Inc.